Natural Born Aesthetic & Me

La Luna full moon party at the Eloprogo Art House was our first meeting. At that time, I think he is a musician, because he brings a harmonica and was also chimed music sung in the show. But as with respect to time, at that time I didn’t know Rouv opportunity further. I just heard a story about him that good at drawing, design, and multi-talents of my friend. My friend had also showed me the cups they made together, for a costume party. I imagine when hearing is a kind of cup trophies are commonly given for the award. But my friend said, this trophy is made from junk. And, indeed, the form of trophies it is absurd; almost like ghost figures are not clear in the cartoons. But even so, the cups that is the beginning of my introduction to the works Rouv. Until now, the form of trophies and even then still embedded in the memory. After 2009, there was no communication between me and Rouv intense. Several times we had to communicate through social networking. He used to tag me in a photo graphic design flows represents a very young indie style, vintage, or retro that is rampant in this day and age. Only later in the year 2012 this is my chance to meet him once again had the opportunity to see a collection of his fantasy.Reparenting Therapy_2

The youngest of thirteen siblings are enthusiasts of parkour, BMX, and Payung Teduh -sport and music that represent the spirit of independence and street. Independence is in the works Rouv seen in him exploration of fantasy creatures that bring so many absurd. There is a phase where he could meet the diverse areas of the image with the character, from the eyes of one or three to a long neck and faced a lot. There is also a picture with single characters is no less absurd and often bring out the psychotic. I found out later, that the fantasy works of this kind there is flow, the pop surrealism or lowbrow. And it seems, this is the style that represents the interests Rouv aesthetic exploration, with the ideas that come from personal experience, feelings, and hope- expectations. As in the pictures in the last few months, the Rouv’s drawing much about the house and the heart. Browsing fantasy still he did and he found a new character for a collection of fantasy figures. After the monsters, then he could have a rabbit characters, he found the character of the eyelid below the main character in a series of his new works. Many of his works he composed in medium water color on paper, and Rouv the only artists in this exhibition featuring the watercolor painting.

This is the writings Abmi Handayani in her blog. She’s my friend, curator of the exhibition ; Natural Born Aesthetic. She is a good writer and sometimes works as a translator.

Leave a comment